Great Aspirations.

J dropped me at the gym this morning, and as usual, when I had finished, I walked through the fields and up past the church. I have taken a photo of this boutique hotel  before, but I stopped and had a look at the menu today. I didn't think the prices were too bad. Two courses were £17 and three courses were £22, but the portions are probably small, as J was quick to remind me. I have a big-ish birthday coming up soon, so maybe we will throw caution to the wind, and go there. One of the ladies from church went there the other day, and she had a piece of cake, and a cup of tea, and it cost her £6 pounds. I know that is a bit expensive, but I intend to do that one day, just because I can. A nice idea anyway.  I had to get a few things in town, and then I headed towards the bus station. I was a bit early for my bus, so I sat down to wait. There was an elderly gent next to me, and he obviously wanted to chat.  He told me he was 86 years old, and came  from Yorkshire. I could tell that by his accent. He was saying how times have changed, from when he was young. He told me a joke that was a bit risque, but he made me laugh. I could see my bus  coming in, and he was still in the middle of telling me yet another story, and I didn't want to be rude, but I really didn't want to miss my bus. I had to get up, mid flow, and say, I'll see you again. I wish I had asked him if I could have taken his photo, as he did look good for his age. I sent J a text, to say I was on the way, and to make the coffee. When I got home, he had made me a sandwich, with cottage cheese, ham, and salad. I did argue, just a little   that I didn't want any lunch, but oh boy, did it taste good.  He has been out the garden all afternoon, putting together his new, bigger board. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.