NormPietila

By NormPietila

"The Weight" ..by The Band

Kevin, you were right.  
My tiny object in the foreground was a 10 gram weight for this balance scale  (a 2 Kilo / 5 Pound Ohaus Harvard Trip Balance Scale). I purchased this scale from an antique shop in Caledon over 25 years ago when I was commercially manufacturing fresh pasta products for hotels and restaurants in Toronto and Montreal.  I needed a scale that would accurately measure Saffron threads in the amount of 9 grams.  I purchased only the finest Spanish Saffron in 500 gram containers at $2.00 per gram. The Saffron stamens would give me a very bright and flavourful pasta that was a rich yellow colour.  Chefs were asking for it to use with their seafood dishes.  Other uses were to measure squid ink for black pasta and for weighing fresh yeast for bread production.  As you can see this scale is in it's balanced mode and has been very accurate for all these years.  A new one today would roughly cost $340. 
The Band created hits in the late sixties, (think they were at Woodstock) and I have enjoyed most of their hits, "the Weight" being my fav.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.