julieanne

By julieanne

For the Love of God!

I arrived in Korea two years and one week ago, 24 hours after leaving my house in the UK, and feeling a little dazed and confused, my bus hit the outskirts of Gwangju at around midnight. I honestly wondered on that first night where I'd come to! In the pitch black the one thing that stood out were the crosses, hundreds of them, bright red and lighting up the sky. In my mind my thought process went something like....crosses....red crosses....crosses on fire....KKK...what the...? Now it just goes.....Korea the land of Neon!

Its funny how the things that leap out and shock you about somewhere soon become part of the background music. I am seriously in need of a holiday at the moment and am very much counting down to my month off (8 days to go!) but Korea, and Gwangju in particular, are very much my home for now and I can't imagine living anywhere else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.