O-wash-ta-nong

Today was one of those crazy days in the life of an airline employee!

I left NY yesterday afternoon and worked one of the evening flights from Newark to London, landing at almost 7am this morning.  Then I did what is known to crew members as a 'Turn and Burn' - without going home, I turned right around and flew back to the US, this time as a passenger.  Thankfully, I did have time to change into normal clothes and leave everything I didn't need (uniform, manuals etc) in my car.  

Thankfully I had a very nice Business Class seat on the flight to Chicago and I was able to sleep (laying flat!) for the first 5 hours of the 8-hr flight.  After a quick change of planes in Chicago, I was on yet another flight to Michigan.  This was the beautiful view that I enjoyed just before landing in Muskegon.  This is the Grand River which is the longest river in Michigan, running 260 miles before meeting Lake Michigan at Grand Haven.  It also runs through Jackson, Eaton Rapids, Lansing and Grand Rapids.  The Native Americans called it 'O-wash-ta-nong', meaning Far-away-water, because of its length.  

I'll be in Michigan for a few days, visiting my relatives here, and joining them for a family reunion on Saturday before returning back to the UK.  I am now officially on  V A C A T I O N!!  I'm taking the rest of the summer off, hopefully not flying again until September!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.