TaTs - dawg & stuff

By tinksandtonks

T is for Thread-bare Teddy-bear

Much loved teddy
Your first owner long gone now
But worn fur recalls


Back story -

Teddy was owned by Keith Lefley in Staveley
He was born Spring 1941
and died aged 24 Summer 1965

In that time he never talked or walked

This was I'm told down to spina bifida and hydrocephalus

He loved some music though - Jim Reeves was a favourite

Teddy plays "Happy Birthday" and the fur around the wind up key is totally missing

I know the basic facts because for a time I was married to Keith's brother

and when we divorced Teddy was left with me

(Barry died 12 years ago aged 57
and given that he actually had spina bifida occulta the trained geneticist in me wonders how much it contributed to his death
no doctor ever advised him because I was one of the few people who knew about Keith)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.