Peahen

By Peahen

Bucket List? (image contains strong language)

Two new books for me today. On the left, the perfect book for someone who lives by lists. I really do. Yet I've never written nor wanted to write, a bucket list. My closet and closest dreams are so few that a list isn't really needed. They live deep inside me, worn smooth and rounded like pebbles in the current of my daily life and longings, as familiar and permanent as my scars. For many years, learning to play saxophone was one of them. The remaining one is learning to play double bass, or even just seeing if it might be possible, and I think that wanting to do a photography degree might be starting to make a home in there too. As importantly though, this book reminded me that life is as much about saying No as saying Yes. It might be big things, like standing up for a principle, or smaller things like explaining that no, we won't be going to Hollywood anytime soon, but life gets messy very quickly without the N word. This book is a delightful dry run in saying No, Never, Absolutely Not, 1000 times.
The blue suede book is easier to explain. It's technically an address book, with A-Z tabs.As I learn each song (see yesterday's blip) I'll add it to the right page, together with the key that it's in, the starting note, and any comments on awkward bars or particular structure.
Edit to add that it's not actually two different shades of red... not sure what's happened there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.