Sailfish

By sailfish

The Phaistos Disc

Obviously that could be the Paistos, Phaestos or Festos Disc - depending on what you're reading!

I went into Heraklion on the bus today, probably the best local bus I've ever been on, much better than the 26 at home. Heraklion didn't seem as ugly as people had suggested. The bus station is right next to the Venetian Harbour, so it made a favourable impression almost as soon as I got off the bus.

I went to visit the Archaeological Museum to see some of the finds from the Palaces I've been visiting over the past few days. There were some amazing things there. But this is what I really wanted to see: the Phaistos Disc, found at the Palace of Phaistos during excavation work in 1908. It's a clay disc imprinted  with hieroglyphic seals. Recent work suggests it may be a prayer or invocation. It is thought to have been made between 1850-1600BC. I love the little man on the right hand side, marching round the rim.

After spending ages in the museum I had a very late lunch overlooking the harbour, then off to the airport for a late flight home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.