Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

What Sheep?

Another big gather today, I don't have to climb to the top of this mountain I flank the sides. And today I had no sheep on my side at all. So it was a lonely quiet walk round the hill with only the sounds of the panting dogs and the birds twittering with the occasional snatch of radio contact from the other side of the gather. I had to wait an hour and a half for the other side to come round and then we meet on the face of the hill and flank the sheep and bring them down to the farm.

Pip did a lovely job at times moving on the sheep, although lacking a bit of steadiness. Breagh seems to know this gather and as we head down the hill with the sheep she stays ahead of me flanking them all the time to keep them coming in straight. We had sheep in today that haven't been in since before this gather last year as they had last years and this years fleeces on them, what we call double fleecers. If they have more than two years, on this farm, they call them armadillos and this is a perfect description of them as they look like an armadillo in the way they move under the weight of their extra fleeces.

14c 5mph E mainly overcast with odd appearances of the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.