Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Fly green spots

This insect is not that dissimilar to yesterday's, but I am convinced it is a fly, as it does not have the wing casings. About the same size as yesterday's insect, about 18mm long and has three green spots on its thorax. I expected identification to be very simple with its distinctive markings, but I was wrong. It is similar to a centurion soldier fly but that is as close as I can get. Usually when I have problems identifying something, it means that I have made an incorrect basic assumption that it is a fly, it may well turn out to be a wasp!

Continuing on from yesterday's Indonesian differences discussion on the subject of status, I was reminded by Sue that being overweight is also thought of as a sign of wealth. Indonesia is a nation of people built of normal proportions, maybe a touch on the skinny side of normal. Obesity is very rare. This could be considered as a result of a healthy diet, but in fact it is only because they cannot afford the food to get fat!

What is sad to see, is when I am staying in an expensive hotel and see Indonesian families around the pool and see the obscene obesity of their children, especially the young boys. The girls tend to be looked after more and their weight controlled, as obviously their good looks are going to be vital in a few years when looking for a good husband.

Another consequence of this lean diet, as many of you have pointed out in the past, is the dental quality of the nation. It seems that nearly everyone has perfect teeth. Tesa, my second wife is 38 years old and has never had a filling in her life. She is now wearing braces, but that is more a vanity thing as I never thought of her teeth as crooked.

So, to sum up, light skin is desirable, overweight is desirable and even a mature age is desirable, so I am having a great time!

Update - 'Green Legged Sawfly' - Tenthredo mesomelas Thanks to Mollyblobs.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.