madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

I Wish!

Spent 3 hours on the allotment this morning - mainly with the girls! Estelle being bullied as she is moulting so has dropped to the lowest of the pecking order, and Dotty being rather subdued - she is getting on in years - both my favourites so my heart aches for them. Red mites still in evidence so serious spraying again, but at least they were not swarming!
Once the coop was spick and span I was free to photograph the glorious sky! This led me from one flower to another all over the allotment rather like a bee looking for honey! Some plots are just a glorious profusion of colour, and so well kept! Mine is a disgrace but the one I took over with another plot holder is doing ok-ish. Well my crops have been planted there! I now have the whole plot not just a half as friend is finding it too much as she has developed a bad back. So tomorrow the rest of my squashes will be planted! I may well sprinkle some flower seeds too in the hope of some late colour! I will also be sprinkling slug pellets as the *******'s have eaten the beans I planted after they ate the first lot! I shall plant a third lot and be hopeful it's third time lucky!
I bumped into Camera Man whilst walking Portly later in the day, he was looking for the bee swarm that had just flown up the valley! We went back to his for a cuppa and Polenta cake!  He is off to Henley to get his portrait! I can't wait to see it! Nor can he! 
So after going to local garden centre for slug pellets, and returning with a Shrub rose and a yellow Canna (!), I discovered a package on my doorstep - 7 plants from a Nursery selling on ebay! Time for more pot shuffling in the back garden! 
Those fluffy clouds had developed into Mackerel  Scales as the day went on - “Mare’s tails and mackerel scales make tall ships carry low sails.” ( see here for more weather sayings!! ) and early evening a thunderstorm came in - but as usual passed on the outskirts of the village - rumbles and rain but no lightning - again!
Well time to go back to the plot and put the girls to bed! I'd rather be going to my bed again! I did draw the blind last night and it worked! Woke at 8 - which was a bit of a bugger as needed to be up early to open chickens!! So full circle and same again tomorrow as we have an early morning grass clearing operation on the girls plot tomorrow am - its too close to the fence and will be draining the battery.Ah well, I  can never see too much of my girls! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.