The peterborough canoe

This is a 2-person hand-built strip canoe made by my dad in the early 1990's. It's truly gorgeous! And Steve brags that it's the best canoe he has ever paddled. :0) This photo shows it in Steve's shop at Lucas Boatworks. We had stored it for a while. . . It was in good shape, except for a few places on the gunnels. Steve had to refinish where the wood was showing through & now it's beautiful again. This canoe is going to Wolfe Island with us along with Steve's Crazy Cat sailboat! I so look forward to paddling the Peterborough on the St Lawrence River again and hopefully going to the minnow pond ~ mmmm- magical!  ;0)

My dad and Steve did a full restoration of this canoe back in 2010 when we first moved to Florida. Later that year, my dad was able to go out in the Peterborough with Steve, before he was feeling too bad from cancer. I was really happy he got to go out in one of his boats again, especially after the work of restoring it. This canoe is wonderfully crafted and handles like a dream. I love paddling it with Steven so I'm really glad we are taking it with us this year. Besides being fun, it's a lovely way to honor my dad. We have lots of conversations about it with anyone who sees it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.