A Tsunami of Yellow

Dear Diary,

St. Francis seems about to be overtaken by a tsunami of yellow.  It is filling the garden.  Coreopsis, rudbeckia, painted daisies, day lilies, everywhere I look it is yellow!  Occasionally some cat mint offers a cooling blue-violet contrast but it is definitely a yellow world out there right now.

This doesn't bother me in the least.  After the long white winter color of any kind is most welcome.  It is said that yellow was the painter Van Gogh's favorite color.  It is a sunny, happy, uplifting color.

The yellow wavelength is relatively long and essentially stimulating. In this case the stimulus is emotional; therefore yellow is the strongest colour, psychologically. The right yellow will lift our spirits and our self-esteem; it is the colour of confidence and optimism. - Psychological Properties Of Colours by Angela Wright

Carl Jung first studied the impact of color on our lives and I was included a unit on color theory when I was teaching.  When I first started photographing again in 2005 color was the furthest thing from my mind.  My work was exclusively monochrome.  Now, I love to work in color much more that black and white.  I wonder what Mr. Jung would make of that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.