SIGNS

By Mickky

A good bookshop

One of four Waterstones' slogans, highlighting the importance of shopping in a physical bookshop and representing their public image of 'the nation's leading high street bookseller,' as mentioned in the online article by Campbell (2012).

Then how are such aim and public image reflected in this particular slogan? Without doubt a good bookshop would refer to Waterstones. For another, it is pointed out that the choice of word, ardent, rather than its synonyms such as passionate, avid or keen, may have the implication of intelligence and literariness that belong to middle-class shoppers, with this word choice being described as 'unusual' in this article, which, as a non-native speaker of English, I'm not sure of, but still interests me a lot.

According to my record this seems to be the first English text I captured since I came to the UK. I arrived in Britain on 16th September, just four days earlier than the day of this blip. It's actually my second time studying in Britain, and really nice to be back :)

This day I joined in a small trip to Chatsworth House, organised by the Students' Union. I was glad to have the opportunity to set my foot on the place where one of my favourite film was partly filmed (see the extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.