Cobras on the loose!

A genus of plants of which I'm very fond is Arisaema, in the family Araceae. I collected them at one time, having 32 different species, but I've gradually lost many of them, probably due to a combination of cold and winter wet. They probably need better drainage than I've been giving them, so in future I'll plant them on a bed of pea-gravel. 

I've grown most of these aroids from seed - they form a tuber which in some species can grow very large. They enjoy well-drained woodsy soil and when happy can bulk up well.

I spotted this one this afternoon - I think it's Arisaema ciliatum, but will need to check my records to be sure. These so-called Cobra Lilies are native to east Asia, but there are a few species in the USA and elsewhere. The American species are known as Jack-in-the-Pulpit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.