South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

Elvis builds a church!

It was our village fair today and the local vicar was dressed as Elvis (and did sing "The Wonder of You" later!). The wind was incredibly strong and there was a game where two teams had to collect cardboard boxes with spray painted parts of a church on them and build the church up. It was chaotic as the boxes kept blowing around and 'Elvis' ended up having to try to hold them all in place! His team won. Afterwards, Stuart and I helped him gather up the boxes and stash them out of the wind!
I bought a few things - an alarm clock (which we can't work out how to use, so I will have to look it up online!), a trifle bowl (which now has a trifle in it. I did wash it first!) and some RNLI lemon curd - which I already know is really good. I also won a purse in our church "Every Evens is a winner" tombola, though it took me two tries!
When I got home I caught up with the tennis. I especially enjoyed the women's doubles this evening - fantastic match! But Martina Hingis has always been one of my favourite players. Henin was another - I was so sad when she retired so early (as did Hingis, thanks to the new power tennis. I think it has caused nothing but injury problems for the women players, especially shoulder and wrist). I'll get off my soapbox now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.