Phoenix Indian School

This is Memorial Hall, built in 1922. It is part of three remaining buildings in what is now Steele Indian School Park a few miles north of downtown Phoenix.

Phoenix Indian School opened in 1891 and closed in 1990. It was a school for Native American children. It was built to assimilate children into white culture.

Read far more information here.

This park has a lot of offerings, so I'll probably visit it for photos over the next few days.

In other news: My job ends soon. I'm a contract worker, and my contract is up on Tuesday the 14th. I work tonight, am off Sunday, and work Monday and Tuesday. After that, I'm hoping for a permanent position, but I don't know when that will come up.

In the meantime, I'm going to my hometown on the Navajo Reservation in a little over a week. That should be fun. I'm bringing my friend, who has never been farther north than the Grand Canyon. I've booked a tour of Monument Valley, where numerous Westerns were filmed. I can't even imagine the type of photography I'm going to get there.

I hope you visit to see those photos. I don't want to hype it up, but I don't think one can take a bad photo at Monument Valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.