Race For Life

Every 2 minutes someone in the the UK is diagnosed with cancer. A statistic that shocked me this morning.

I think it is a rare family now-a-days that hasn't been touched at some point with this dreadful disease, so today, not going with my usual genre, I'm celebrating my three years on blipfoto with my daughter running for the cause.

Race for Life is for a British charity, Cancer Research UK, which gets no government funding. It's an all women event, though, there were some youngsters and dogs trotting round Cheltenham racecourse too in the heat today. Standing camera at the ready on the edge of the track seeing the huge multitude of inspirational women jogging round was really moving. There was a strange feeling of solidarity, of standing  together in the battle. Everyone was clapped and cheered as they came up to the finishing line - the supporters doing their bit for everyone.

Over the last 20 years 7 million women have raised £513 million to prevent, diagnose and treat 200 different types of cancer. Well done the ladies in pink!! Very well done Tammy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.