Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View of Monbiel Valley

I took Gavin to the station this morning to get the 9.30am train back to Zurich to fly home again. On a Sunday all the shops are shut other than the conditorei, so I went back home, got Murdoch and we walked to the bakery to get fresh bread. It was already very hot by 10am. I decided it was too hot to go for a long walk and instead I pottered around the apartment.

Thomas went up the mountain to do downhill biking - that is biking on narrow, wooden tracks all the way down the mountain, including jumps and steep runs down. Every time he goes biking I keep my phone at my side dreading a phone call to say that he has crashed. Today I got such a phone call - his front wheel clipped a rock and he fell, grazing his shoulder, arm and leg quite badly. He felt quite shaken but then decided to continue down the track to the end so that he could get the gondola back up again where he could go to the bathroom to wash his grazes. On the way up in the gondola he fainted! It was very hot and he had not had enough to drink. The gondola staff were so kind, they helped him after he fainted and then cleaned the grazes with disinfectant - another biker gave him a drink and then one of the gondola staff came back down with him and gave him and his bike a lift back home to the apartment. He is fine now, just a bit bruised and sore. He has protective padded clothing but it was just too hot to wear all the gear so he didn't....a lesson learnt today. 

After lunch Thomas went to the pool and Murdoch and I went on a walk, but it was so hot we cut it short and came back after about an hour.

If you are interested you can see some more photos of the Swiss Alps here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.