Hills

Up early and headed North to walk round some hills.

It was clear and the route was laid out in front of me.

A cracking first hill with great views, a steep descent and a boggy approach to hill number 2. On the way up through the rocky outcrops something caught the corner of my eye landing on the crags above, I thought it was an eagle but could not see it. On the summit plateau I headed towards the crag I thought I saw the eagle. It was standing on a ledge grooming itself 10 foot below, I watched for a while they moved to get the camera and it dropped down and soared along the ridge, stunning.

I hung around but could not see it again, over to the highest point in the county. A steep ascent with the reward of 2 eagles hunting on the ridge above, I just stopped and watched these majestic birds glide and soar. Onwards and a mountain hare was raised but it kept a low profile.  A wee dottrel ment me at the summit scurring around. A wee bit of cloud then the view opened up over the flow country and the glittering lochs.

A steep descent and traverse to the last hill of the day, a soaring eagle on the hillside and deer herds in the bealachs. I reached the last top and a bonus trig point. AI met a couple and chatted to them for a while before heading back to the car.

What a brilliant day, good hills and brilliant birdlife, definately be back to these hills.

A drive back, to the family and a lovely tea with the eco girls.

This is the view from the county top to the other hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.