Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Berlin #Day3

Another amazing day in Berlin, which included one item ticked off the "Bucket List" for me.

Highlights today included...

...a fab boat tour along the Spree - leisurely, with great views and a brilliant way to understand a city.

...a walk along the river past the Reichstag and on to Museum Island.

...the first "Currywurst" for The Boy. He reckoned one was enough to last a lifetime!

...coffee beside the Nikolaikirche,
the oldest church in Berlin

...getting the U2 train to Zoogarten Station :)

Highlight for me though was the visit to the Neues Museum - which has THE actual bust of the Egyptian Queen Nefertiti. I was utterly obsessed by her when I was a child. I loved all things ancient Egypt but she was the star - I used to draw her over and over, trying to render her perfectly, and for a long time I wore a gold Nefertiti pendant. Walking into that room and seeing it was breathtaking - like a physical punch. Still can't quite believe it. What an experience. Yes, there were tears...

No photo's of the bust itself allowed but I did capture this famous fresco painting - another picture I pored over for hours in my books.

Yeah, I probably was an odd child... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.