First Chalkhill blue...

It has been very wet and mizzy today, consequently I didn't even bother to go out till this afternoon when I went for a quick trip to my favourite meadow on the downs.
I was really glad I did as all the usual butterflies were roosting in the grasses to avoid the rain, and were so much easier to photograph than usual!
This beauty is a male Chalkhill blue polyommatus coridon , one of the first I have seen this year, and a sure sign the season is moving on. I only saw 2 today, but soon the meadow will be full of them.
Driving home it felt more like mid September than early July...I felt so sad :-(  I have included a shot of a roosting  Smalkl skipper and Large white for you to enjoy too....my extras are fast running out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.