Inner Sense

By FranklyFrank

Let sleeping dogs lie

Our borderline collie, Jasper, has been on an adventure. Something spooked him yesterday and he headed out. He didn't return that evening and I couldn't find him this morning either. One reason for his being spooked was that we have a tile setter, Brian, at work and I think Jasper didn't like this stranger especially as Mrs G is away.

Today Brian was back to finish up and when he was he offered to drive me around to the neighbouring road. We met a family who had seen Jasper the previous evening but he was very skittish. Brian dropped me off at the top of the trail that leads back to our house - which was where I'd seen Jasper heading. No luck.

Luckily I got home just as the phone was ringing. Good news, Jasper had been found and was being held for me. Apparently he had gone to the beach where he met two ladies and followed them back up the trail to the road. They handed him over to the man who lives by the trail head. He phoned me, gave Jasper a drink and a cookie.

Jasper was pleased to see me and gambolled like a puppy. Then he had a meal and has been asleep ever since. I feel almost as exhausted as he does, what with late night and early morning search parties and a restless night's sleep. A beer is in order!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.