ClaireyBeeS

By ClaireyBeeS

Notre Dame de Paris

Well this is my second attempt at this Blip due to the laptop crashing and not saving. Thanks to Brian, I now know I can retro-Blip and so this is one of my favourite views from last week's Paris extravaganza.

The Notre Dame is a beautifully-constructed cathedral; even the grotesque gargoyles are created with a eye for detail and portrayal.

There are far too many shots that were captured last week to choose - Pére Lachaise Cemetery was awe-inducing for me. I finally got to see the graves of my childhood inspirations of Jim Morrison and Oscar Wilde. Over one hundred acres of bizarrely huge tombs and family mausoleums sprawled over a hill. It was eerily perturbing in the day time - thinking of the night time atmosphere makes me shiver.

My highlight was the Shakespeare and Company Bookshop situated across the river from the Notre Dame. A tiny antiquarian bookshop where the likes of Hemingway, Fitzgerald and Joyce et al used to hang out and draw inspiration from. I got to play a Mozart Concerto on the shop's ancient piano too. Another major off my Bucket List: tick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.