Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Puffin on Skomer Island

I'm sorry I didn't post images during our trip to the UK.  It was brief, and I had neither time nor access to wifi, so I will back blip a few over the next few days.  

One of the highlights of our trip was a day spent on Skomer Island off the south coast of Wales.  The trip was unplanned, as a friend in Bristol mentioned it as a neat place to visit, and then worked out that we would be in the area during the puffin breeding season when the birds are on shore.  So on our last day camping a little north of St Davids, we drove down to catch the boat from Martin's Haven.  Visitor numbers are restricted to 250 per day, on a first come, first served basis.  There are miles of walking tracks so people do spread out well.  

The puffins are very accessible, as they cross a popular visitor track with total unconcern, seemingly unimpressed by a line-up of photographers pointing tripods in their direction.  I had only my little camera with me, but it was adequate at this close range.

There are a couple more images on my Flickr site: https://www.flickr.com/photos/68184028@N04/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.