Dancersend

By Dancersend

Drinker

Amongst the soggy egg boxes in the bottom of my moth trap this morning was an interesting and varied collection. Perhaps the most appropriate was this lovely male Drinker, who looked quite smart despite his overnight adventures. Ever since learning to identify Drinkers I've always associated them with with a larger than life character, full of bonhomie (and booze), propping up a City wine bar in a rather smart camel coat and slightly ostentatious scarf! I don't know where this image came from, but I blame childrens' books like Wind in the Willows. Anyway, I now know that it's the caterpillar that gives this species its name, from its habit of drinking drops of dew hanging from plants. In front, and out of focus, is one of the many Crambidae micro-moths that are filling the trap at the moment.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.