Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

30 years

Knowing that my next blip would be my hundredth has given me 'image-maker's-block'. 

I had thought about doing some brightly-coloured kitchen stuff to illustrate a conversation I have been having, but I won't get a chance to photograph that until Wednesday, which will also be our anniversary.

So then I thought about doing an anniversary blip on Wednesday and have managed to work out how to overcome my previous problems with white rectangles on montages. It's very complicated but it works and I am happy to have worked it out.

And then driving into the village this morning I suddenly realised that today is exactly 30 years since Live-Aid. Live-Aid and our wedding are the two most significant, happy days I can remember, but Live-Aid has more global significance whereas our wedding was just heaps of fun for a select few.

So for my 100th blip I have taken from its box the tee-shirt I always regarded as too precious to wear. 

In 30 years it has developed liver-spots. 

And the world is in a worse mess too. I think that the haves have run out of sympathy for the have-nots. Maybe it's generational, maybe when my generation was younger we had more than the younger generation has now :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.