New Year, New Life

By jenpedler

Checking levels

Jonathan, curator, putting final touches to Bleeding London exhibition at City Hall today.
I went along to help with hanging the panels on the second floor - overlooking the council chamber. It was great to have the chance to take a closer look at all the pics - the exhibition gets better and better every time I see it.  The second floor pics weren't hung for the PV as the event had to take place in the cafe/basement area only so only the cafe panels were hung and the rest were on easels, plus some were hung in the Fire Station bar where we had the after party and there were a couple that there wasn't room for at all.  So I hadn't really had a chance to look at them all in detail - and discover that actually five of my pics are included (maybe even more to discover on closer inspection...).
Around 600 photographers took part in the project and everyone who participated has at least one pic included.  Total pictures I submitted was 621! (But top contributors submissions were in the thousands!)
I've already blipped three that are in the exhibition:
A day for showing off the tats
Blonde in a blue car
Free Palestine
The last of these proved very controversial. It was taken when I found myself in Trafalgar Square on the day of the Gaza demo last year.  I almost didn't submit it to BL as there were already so many Trafalgar Square photos but I decided to take a chance and it seems that people really like it. It was selected to be a larger 'featured' photo for one of the panels and printed up - but when it was being hung (in cafe area) the powers that be deemed it too political so although it's still included in the panel it was demoted to a smaller image!
Great thing about this is that Jonathan may be able to give me the 'reject' panel which will be great to hang on my wall.
I've put copies of all my photos from the exhibition in a folder on ipernity

If you'd like to see the exhibition for yourself, it's on at City Hall until 14th August. Opening times: Mon-Thu 8:30-6:00, Fri 8:30-5:30. (Free.)
We got some very positive comments from visitors while we were there completing the hanging today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.