Prune cake dinner

All five of us have southern roots, and somehow that, and the lowering of the Confederate battle flag, and how happy we are that at least that symbol is gone--somehow took over the evening we spent together. Laughing over roast chicken and mashed potatoes, green beans and beets, we told stories about our relatives, the way the Civil War never ended in our families....

"If that's the way you feel about our Confederate grandfathers, then I'm taking my prune cake and leaving for good, and I'll die before I set foot in this house ever again!"

"You could leave the prune cake, Ella Mae. I been waitin for a taste of your prune cake for the past six months."

"You'll eat my prune cake over my dead body, hussy." 

The screen door would bang. And then,

"That hussy! I can't believe her mama let her step out the house in that outfit!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.