The second half of life..

By twigs

Work it baby!

The weather has started drawing in a bit so my vague plans became even more so.  I decided that, whilst the weather was still kind of OK I'd drive up the Otira Gorge to see how the keas were surviving winter.  Whilst I only saw four of them they did appear to be in fine winter spirits.  Nothing like a good chew on some car rubber to keep the winter hunger pangs at bay!

Even now though, I still do not like driving on the Otira viaduct.  I've done it enough times but I never seem to be able to really 'enjoy' it until I'm safely on the other side.  Passing a double trailer, fully laden truck didn't help the nerves any today either!  Then, just to make things interesting, I turned around and headed back the way I'd come :)  Staying tonight at Moana on the shores of Lake Brunner.  Very peaceful.

Will see what htomorrow brings tomorrow.

G'night.

PS Just found this link that gives some indication of what the road was like befor ethe viaduct was opened in 1999.  I was a passenger in a car that drove this road once - I think that's where my dislike of the road stems from (nothing to do with M's driving!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.