The Wren

By TheWren

Three bridges

Following a very hasty turnaround during which time I even managed to cut the grass which was so long it had seeded! I didn't have time to mull over what to pack so just threw everything into suitcases in the knowledge that i had just a short journey to the dock at Rosyth. Embarkation was the easiest I have ever encountered and I was on board Fred Olsen's MS Boudicca within 20 minutes of arrival and had met up on deck with my sister and brother-in-law who were travelling with me.
A quick unpack and then onto the deck, cocktail in hand, to watch as we sailed majestically underneath the three bridges crossing the Firth of Forth - the reddish cantilever rail bridge is the oldest and it stands out proudly behind the current road bridge and the new road bridge still under construction. The top of the ship's mast had been lowered to allow us to pass under the bridges and then we sailed on past the Bass Rock before it was time for our first sumptuous meal and opportunity to meet our dining companions.

The sea was calm and an early night beckoned as I started to relax.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.