Naked rambling

Harper Lee introduced us to her follow up book today, 55 years after her last one - the small matter of 'To Kill a Mocking Bird!' It's very exciting news & I can't wait to read 'Go set a Watchman.' It's kind of irrelevant to me as to whether I like it. This is part of the heritage of someone who wrote one of the most amazing books I have ever read!

I've published two books, but have written four! The other two need immense work and may well never surface which, professionally, may well be the best thing! Yet, should I publish and you not like, it will at least give insights and clues into me the writer, and I find that interesting. In fact there are very few authors I could name who I would say I've enjoyed every book. Writing is a process and during that process the writer can be in a very different place, both mentally and physically sometimes, at any one time. No wonder then that the results can differ quite markedly between books.

So I for one welcome Harper Lee's new book regardless of its critical acclaim. She's a legend and this is just joyous news.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.