a town called E.

By Eej

Struggle

Last Friday, before I went to work, 2 of the neighbour kids were on the trampoline, making noise. I ignored it. Then the Percy I had been hanging out with took off, with the last leg of his journey over the fence in the far back of next door's yard. The kids spotted him, and started making barking noises, to scare him.
 I was LIVID. So I yelled (not too loud, not too angry) "HEY! That's not very nice!" I saw them looking around where the sound was coming from, which was kinda funny. Then I heard the Mom ask something. "A squirrel," the older girl said. "Don't do that," said the Mom.
I felt so validated.
Because I really thought that was a respectful thing to do, I wrote a short note, thanking her, and explaining why I called out. I put my business card in it, and a sticker of one of the Percys on top. I said that we like to be nice neighbours but that their children actively scaring 'my' squirrels could potentially hurt my (not really existing yet, but hopefully one day and no, I didn't tell them that) photography business. Then I thanked her again.
It was a nice note. I am not a horrible person.
I then spend my entire Saturday in limbo between feeling proud and being afraid they were going to come over to beat me up.
Nothing.
Today, still nothing.

I'm calling it; they officially don't give a flying ef.
I am struggling, mentally, to work with this, around this. I am so tired.

I am, however, extra grateful for whomever still wants to visit the backyard, even when it's noisier than everyone would like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.