Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Roughton village sign

I decided to treat myself to fish and chips today, before going on up to my orchestral rehearsal.  I stopped in the village of Roughton, pronounced rowtun (row as in big noise, not propel a boat), and had a very pleasant meal in the small restaurant there.  I then popped across the road, where I could see there was a village sign.

The writing reads: "I give all my houses and lands lying and being in Roughton to the maintaining of a Free School.  Robert Brown, 1694"

I tried to research this legacy on Google, but can find very little information.  There is a still existing Roughton Land Trust, which appears to be the charity created from this legacy.

The church to the right is St Mary's, one of many Saxon round tower churches in Norfolk.  The coach to the left is presumably a reference to the fact that Roughton is on a turnpike road.

Roughton has a few historical claims to fame.  Albert Einstein lived in a hut near Roughton after escaping from Germany in 1933.  And 13 year old April Fabb disappeared in 1969, and has never been found. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.