On Some Days

By V1k1

Steamy

I went to Kuirau Park today to practice landscapes.  This is the thermal lake which has a board walk around it.  When I looked up what it's name was I found this little paragraph about it. 
In early Maori times the small lake in the park was much cooler and was known as Taokahu. Legend tells us that a beautiful young woman named Kuiarau was bathing in the waters when a taniwha (legendary creature) dragged her to his lair below the lake. The gods above were angered and made the lake boil so the Taniwha would be destroyed forever. From that time on, the bubbling lake and the steaming land around it have been known by the name of the lost woman, although the spelling has changed a little.
Today I discovered there is a function button and you can choose different effects.  I liked the thermal lake in sepia so that is the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.