a rich image

By richardhaas

Yankee Stadium

The original Yankee Stadium in the Bronx, New York (1923-1973) was probably the most famous athletic venue in American history.  Here is a picture of a box seat from the stadium.  I purchased it in the early 70s for $10.00 and a large number of Winston cigarette boxes I got from my wife's sister.  For better or worse, I left it outside where it has succumb to the elements over the last so many years.  Here it sits in my North Carolina garden.  Fans who sat in this seat saw the likes of Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Joe Dimaggio, Mickey Mantle, Yogi Berra...

Watching just one minute of this  CLIP will provide some insight into the history of this great ball park.  It was renovated in 1973 and replaced just a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.