The scrap book

At the first auction of my dad's stuff, we found this book on a table. It was the high school yearbook of my maternal grandmother. I had never seen it before but as I thumbed through it I realized that it contained a couple of photos and a handwritten note from the man that was her boyfriend, her someday husband and my mom's biological father. I had to have it but, since it was under contract to auction, I had to bid on it like everybody else. The auctioneer began the bidding at $25 so I said nothing, thinking he would lower the bid. After all, who would want that ratty old book? The man behind me, of course. He bid. So I bid $30. We bid that book up to $125 and that's when I let it go. Afterwards, I gave him my card and asked him to contact me if he ever wanted to sell some of the photos.
He was at the next auction, too. And came to tell me that he had actually been interested In the newspaper clippings in the book. Would I be willing to let him cut those out? If I was, he would be happy to give me the book since it obviously meant more to me than it did to him. No charge! Then he asked me to show him the pictures and tell him the story. It was very cool.
So, the man on the right in these photos is "Putts", a golfer and my grandfather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.