The world’s favourite airline

Never mine. I always avoid British Airways and London Heathrow at (almost) all costs.

When BA took over British Midland a few years ago, my BMI airmiles became BA airmiles. At the start of this year, BA announced changes to their scheme which would make them almost worthless. So I had to use them quick, or lose them.

I had quite a lot. Enough for business class trips to Toulouse, Munich (twice), Helsinki and Budapest.

So my flights yesterday (this is a backBlip) were Edinburgh to Heathrow and Heathrow to Munich with BA.

A total nightmare. I left Edinburgh 5 hours late and arrived 6 hours late, having missed 3 connections along the way. I reckon I spent 2 hours in total queuing for checkin in or at reservations for re-booking or on the phone to BA.

Compensation claim will be top of my task list on Monday.

The Blip is the Club Europe lounge at LHR. When I arrived all the flight information screens in Terminal 5 were blank. Software crash on the IT system. Chaos. The lounge staff “thought” they had access to accurate information and would be announcing departure gates until the system was fixed.

My flight didn’t appear on the screens and wasn’t announced. I went and asked a BA person eventually and was told

“Oh, gate B34 in 25 minutes. You’d better run!” 

Since you need to take a wee underground shuttle train to the B gates, it isn’t possible to run...

Take me back, easyJet. All is forgiven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.