Rodents rule

By squirk

Hey there

Skinny Fox came out while I was filling in bare patches in the lawn with the couch grass that prefers to grow in the flower bed. (I don't blame the couch grass; the "lawn" soil is rock hard.) I'd just filled the bird feeders and Skinny Fox soon snaffled the stick that I'd used to prise out stubborn bits of fat ball from the plastic packet. 

It was a lovely day. Fred was in an ultra-organised mood – by lunchtime had cleared the passageway of materials that the builder left this time last year (there's a skip across the road and the worker there was happy to help lift and add our stuff to it). He'd also fixed up one of his bikes to sell on ebay, fitted new brake blocks to my Bobbin, and cleaned it ("is this the first clean the bike's had?" No!) AND he'd cut back the climbers so we can open the side gate without turning into Slinkies. I was exhausted watching him.

Then, I was asked if I felt like organising my stuff. Point taken. I don't think Fred will get exhausted watching me at this sorting nonsense.

We walked to Streatham in the evening, watching the sun set over the Common. I always think it's odd that in such a populated city, hardly anyone ventures out on a night like this to sit in the park. It was glorious. As a treat we went to the big supermarket (we know how to rock a Friday night) – we very rarely go to the big shops as our corner shops usually have all we need and more. However, walking up Streatham High Road, we saw a new, massive supermarket – it's one with two floors! Blimey. We went in and bought nothing, but we had fun dancing on the travelator between the floors. I made a mental note that if I run out of printing ink or paper at 3am, I can come here to stock up.

The evening ended at Beyrouths, which I've been meaning to visit for ages and it's really not far from home. It didn't disappoint. Nom!

Happy Weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.