Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Greyling

Dawney Hill, just 400 yards from Pirbright Village Hall is one of the best bits of Surrey heath for coming across a greyling. They're at their best just now and when you find one on a tree like this one, they're quite easy to photograph (although they always sit with wings closed, often with the spotted part retracted) because, even if disturbed, they'll come back to the same bit of tree, very obliging. The second image shows how good their camouflage is. The silver studded blues here are coming to an end with a few raggy specimens left - a bit like me then.

I substituted a fritillary I blipped the other day for these two red soldier beetles that I thought deserved their own blip.

We've set ourselves a target of spotting two new species (for us) before the end of the summer. I'm thinking clouded yellow (I think we saw one on the wing today, couldn't confirm it) and the silver-spotted skipper ( a taller order since there are very few about).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.