Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Better than a sing-song. A flat white and a scone!

Thank you all for making my blipday special. I was overwhelmed by the response. It was actually better than a birthday, because although I didn't have a cake, I didn't get any older, officially. (Actually 100 days older, but who's counting).

I was pleased with myself yesterday, because after an early morning levitate, I went to give a blood sample and didn't faint, then spent the whole afternoon doing chores. That cupboard is SO spruced up, I might blip it! I leave the doors open to gaze in passing at its pristine shelves. Now to start filling them up again.

Today was my Leo day. The library sing-song wasn't on, so I was able to let him sleep on this morning. I do hate wakening him up to get to the library on time - let sleeping babies lie, I always say. Now.

I went to a cafe that Z recommended. It did not disappoint! Not only did it have toys for kids, the owner had heard of, and made, a flat white. I may have found the best scones in town. AND it had Radio 4 on. (For non Brits, it's a wonderful talk radio, full of interesting programmes, no ads, no shouty presenters, and no muzak).

From there we walked the last wee bit of the Water of Leith and I spent ages trying to get a shot of gliding seagulls, preferably with a reflection. I should put some of my attempts on my blipfolio for a laugh! The buildings opposite nice and clear, and a wing disappearing top right. And that was a good one!

Got a wee bit lost on the way back, and it took ages. One thing about pushing a pram is that you have something to hang on to when getting weary. And you can stop lots of times to check on the cargo.

Mis-timed it to come back through the park at the same time as the local hooligans high school students. A group of lads were going down the other path. I suddenly saw a can of coke flying through the air and landing on the grass between me and them. They had just passed a litter bin. I didn't see who threw it, but paused only momentarily before shouting, 'Excuse me! Could whoever threw that kindly put it in the bin!'

I reckoned, because they were in uniform and I could go and complain about them, that I wouldn't get too much abuse. A red haired chap did pick it up, probably because he knows he's instantly recognisable. I watched him right along the path, and he kept looking round to see if I was watching, presumably intending to chuck it on the grass as soon as I'd gone.

However, Leo was in fine fettle, and we spent an hour outside in the garden. It was full of daisies, and I lay down to get some shots of him, which he thought was hilarious for some reason.

Must make that list.

And fill in that form.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.