Meadow Memories

A shorter day of driving today for me (Annie). I set off after breakfast, which was a harder task than it sounds, because it was a huge and delicious spread - difficult to come away from (and really you just wanted a nap after!). I drove from near Nancy to just south of Zurich, to meet two friends of ours at their house. Close friends of mine that have moved over to Switzerland, it requires more effort to see each other but we manage it. In fact, we've seen each other three times since April!

A relaxed afternoon sat chatting on their veranda with wine and nibbles, a quick siesta and then a very lovely outdoor dinner. Their garden is beautiful, and will be ever more so as the two of them continue to settle in (they've lived here a few months). A good day of catching up with good friends.

The blip is some chive heads in their garden - these long past their flowering prime, but I liked the way the sun caught their wispy petals in a halo. They also remind me of scabious flowers, which in turn remind me of many long, happy family summers spent in Alpine meadows. Even now when I'm stressed, I can go into an Alpine meadow in my head and feel calm and happy. Bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.