Been there, done that, got the t-shirt.....

..and the coasters! This is the first time I've ever had a Snowdon medal, however, and for my slowest ever time!!

Today was the 40th Anniversary of the International Snowdon Race, hence the medal. They also added half a mile to the course as a special treat!!!! Anyway, I was just out to overcome some mental hurdles, so the extra bit didn't worry me as it was on Tarmac. Once we left the Tarmac and started to run on the mountain, however, I saw Noo asleep in a friend's arms. For the rest of the way up I battled with the 'should I or shouldn't I be doing it' question!! I just couldn't bring myself to run, and decided that it was a crazy, reckless thing to be doing as I dodged the leaders racing past on the way down. I was very careful in the descent and almost froze on the scree before Clogwyn. (This is where I fell in 2012). Once I was past the danger zone I broke into a jog, and quickly found my confidence. I enjoyed the thrill of flying down the last 2/3 of the mountain, overtaking everyone in sight, although I did have a fall just before reaching the relative safety of the Tarmac. I have some bad grazes and bruises, but nothing major.

Noo walked about 1/4 way up and back down again. He didn't even get changed for bed.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.