nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Dolphin

Too many photos to choose from today.  Cycled to the Dyfi Osprey Project, which is brilliant.  They have a breeding pair and three young, and expected them to fledge in a week or so.  There are several cameras so you can get a really close up view of the nest, and then there is a big hide with telescopes and binoculars to borrow, not to mention an army of very knowledgeable and enthusiastic volunteers.  The reserve has many other birds and I also saw a field vole and huge dragon flies.  Plus, rather unusually, a pair of water buffalo which they use to manage the environment.

Then I rode out to Borth sands, where there are huge dunes.  I could see a challenging-looking road (visible in the extra blip) heading over to Aberystwyth so I continued on, knowing I could take the train back to Machynlleth later.  The road signs warned of the 25% gradient, and it felt like the steepest thing I have tackled (successfully).  Needless to say I didn't have all my luggage attached.  A nice descent followed by another hill with hairpin bend to allow the road up before back down all the way to the seafront.

Wondering around I thought I had seen a seal, but then realised it was a pair of Dolphins.  Really pleased as I have never seen any in the UK before.  They did a few large leaps (if that is the right word) where they completely left the water, and some playful tail splashes.  There were quite a few of us watching in the sun, and I lost all track of time and came home with some very red back-of-legs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.