Wistful Statue

A day of warden duties at Waddesdon Manor today with a steady stream of visitors throughout the day. Most people are interested in the collection but there is always the inevitable bored teenagers to keep an eye on.  To be fair, all the parents I have seen keep a close watch on their offspring and there are animal spotting trails for the younger children.  

It's interesting for me to chat to people who have come from all over the country - and world.  There was an American couple who raved over the thought of a Sunday roast and the British couple who actually live in Australia for the climate, no death duties and no income tax for the 'seniors' - fascinating insights into people's lives!

The statue in my blip is quite small and in the West Gallery - I am gradually learning where all the rooms are!  It is one of a pair, but I think its juxtaposition in front of the painting makes it quite poignant - almost as if she is the abandoned lover!  I wonder whether the 'Collections' team also thought the same.

The play of light, both artificial and natural, on the marble and painting make for soft textural shadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.