Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

As it used to be

Today I went back to my local fields to see how the harvesting's going, but apparently they're having the weekend off. 

However, to my total delight, I did find these.  The barley was just 5 stalks, left at the edge of the field by the vast harvester.  Next to it was a strip of fallow left, and I am speculating here, because it buts onto houses and gardens so the guys would be wary of spraying.  And very close to the stalks were red poppies and a few of these tiny cornflowers.  When was the last time you saw poppies and cornflowers in a cornfield?  For me it must have been forever!  I really can't remember it was so long ago.

Anyway, a sample was rushed home (yes, I know I shouldn't have picked them) tied in a barley strand and blipped before the sun went off my desk in this little stoneware pot that my mum used to keep salt in.  It's a bit sweet, isn't it?

Okay, that's enough from me.  Hope you've all had a good weekend.  Enjoy your evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.