wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Old and New

Today was my last day in Lancaster, and I spent it seeing just a little of the city. Specifically the Castle and Priory. I went to a service at the Priory, which was quite high Anglican (some bells and smells), but very friendly. after that there was time for a cuppa in the sun before the tour of the Castle started.

The building has a fascinating history, on the site of a Roman fort, and with continuous use as a prison for about 900 years, until 2011. The courts are still in use there, but the whole site is going through a fantastic period of transition. Places going through transition like that are really interesting, with purposes and intentions colliding. Our tour guide was passionate and had some well-oiled jokes peppered through the talk. 

And then it was time to head off to the station, from whence I embarked to Liverpool. Here I am for two nights, with all day project meetings tomorrow. This evening I met up with a couple of the other postgrads involved with the project, and now I am tucked up in a respectable room in the university's accommodation. I must absorb all the luxury of a double bed and tea supplies before heading back to the world of backpacker's bunkbeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.