A place in time

By Verbosa

Electric!

I pass this every day on my way into town, but I see that it is gradually being consumed by ivy. During the mid-80s I worked in a nearby office that overlooked the building of another office block between the Electricity Works and my office...I might try to find that old snap and upload sometime.

Taken from: Guildford Borough Council's website:

The Electric Theatre history

The Electric Theatre is a vibrant multi-purpose venue featuring community and professional work in the heart of Guildford.

In 1913 handsome new Electricity Works were opened on Onslow Street to provide power for Guildford town centre. As demand for electricity grew the works became too small and a bigger station was built. The Electricity Works were retained however, as a distribution centre and all the town centre mains radiated from this point. Unfortunately after 1968 the building lay dormant, (used only as a scenery store for the various theatre groups based in the area) and it was not until twenty years later that the building's potential as a theatre was recognised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.