Tui Antics

Today I thought I would just share some of the entertainment the tuis provide, because watching them is a big part of my life.

The main blip is a tui sitting in the wintersweet tree on my deck. Lately they have been spending some time there eating as the sweetly scented flowers are in full bloom.

The extras are some of the fun they get up to at the feeder in my silver birch tree. Currently there are 4 couples feeding, playing and singing all day long in the tree. When they tire of that they pop onto the deck for a bath in the birds drinking bowl. Unfortunately, the tree is in strong sunlight at the moment and the sun does funny things with their colours - but you will get the idea. In the pic of the three together, one has his tongue out, presumably in anticipation - I noticed this in other photos too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.