Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Luminous Interventions

Rain inspired puddles reflected dulcet city lights. It was dark, but my city was quiet for the most part except for the few who huddled in small conversation on the platform worshipping coffee.  

The train rattled in and softly, half conscious but mostly still dreaming of warm beds, we took our usual seats.  My mind was filled with excitment and fear ... 

"8 days left & then who knows", I thought. 

I had wondered how long it would be before I would see my world again in the myriad of colour that my work, in the past 92 days since I had resigned, had tainted to pale shades of biege.

The Light In Winter Festival runs for 3 weeks in June culminating with the winter solstice.  This image is part of an intense light sculpture, Luminous Interventions by Skunk Control & is based on plants which out of fear adapt to capture light & hold on to it so they can grow in the darkness fueled by hope. 

8 days out from finishing I saw this and thought...."The colours are coming back - I made the right decision".

...& that morning the train ride wasn't sleepy or cosy or an extension of my working day. It was the Indiana Jones theme waiting to happen!

8 days ......

It was time for a hot chocolate, a knowing smile, & fear to become my friend again.  We would walk hand in hand into that darkness and see the world a new because what else can you do when you start again but grab every bit of light, every bit of hope.  

Apologies to my blip friends for my absence from commenting but please know I still look often because you make me smile and give me hope that the world is welcomming for adventurers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.