The Grand Lodge, Waddesdon

This building stands at the bottom of one of the approaches to the magnificent Waddesdon Manor. It is called the Grand Lodge and was built in 1880/90 for Baron Ferdinand Rothschild. The gates, railings & piers are all Grade II listed & in 2012 the building & its surroundings was cleaned & restored at a cost of around £450,000. Pretty isn't it ? The worst thing about it is that it sits at a very busy junction on the A41 between Waddesdon & Aylesbury...

If you want to read some interesting stuff about the Waddesdon Estate click below:

http://list.historicengland.org.uk/resultsingle.aspx?uid=1000446

Not sure my picture does it much justice but it was a quick blip stop on the way home from seeing Mum who I haven't see for over 2 weeks. She looked well but isn't as mobile as she expected & I hopefully I have put her off driving for a couple more weeks until she has seen the surgeon.

My hip still sore but OK to drive as I have an automatic....much much better than it was a while back & I have taken more FVIII over the weekend so I will be getting a call about it I expect.

A dull & cloudy day with the odd burst of sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.